Click to Home
HomeContact Us
Email PagePrint Page
Go To Search
Pawn Licenses

The Coconino County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for the administration and issuance of Pawnbroker Licenses in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute 44-1627.

To obtain an initial license or renew a Pawnbroker License in Coconino County, an Affidavit of Request to Obtain or Renew a Pawnbroker License and an Affidavit of Fingerprint Integrity for Pawnbrokers License in Coconino County must be filled out, notarized and returned to our office, by each proprietor, partner, designated agent, corporate officer, director, and any stockholder owning 10% or more of the corporation.

An annual background investigation will be performed by the Arizona Department of Public Safety to ensure that the applicant has not, within the last five years, been convicted of a felony involving trafficking in stolen property, fraudulent schemes, forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud or a felony involving moral turpitude.  This is required to ensure that the applicant meets the requirements of Arizona Revised Statute 44-1627H.

Applicants should be very familiar with all aspects involving the licensing of pawnbrokers and ensure that they and their establishment satisfy all the requirements as stated in ARS 44-1627.  One requirement of special note is that the agent/owner must be a resident of Arizona. 


Procedures for Applying for a Pawnbroker License:

1) Fill out the applicable forms that are downloadable in this website:

Every proprietor, partner, designated agent, corporate officer, director, and any stockholder owning 10% or more of the corporation and the designated agent (if applicable) will need to fill out and return to our office, an Affidavit of Request to Obtain a Pawnbroker license and an Affidavit of Fingerprint Integrity for Pawnbrokers License in Coconino County.

2) Each applicant applying for a Pawnbroker license or license renewal will need to have a fingerprint card submitted.

  • Fingerprint cards can be completed at:
    • Coconino County Sheriff’s Office, 911 E. Sawmill Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001, (928) 226-5012
    • Out of state owners, directors, stockholders:  at any law enforcement agency using fingerprint cards mailed from Coconino County Sheriff's Office to the fingerprinting agency
    • There is a $22.00 fingerprinting fee for each set of fingerprints processed
    • Hours of fingerprinting for Pawn Licenses or Renewals are Monday-Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, excluding holidays

3) Submit a separate money order, cashier's check or business check made out to the Coconino County Sheriff’s Office to include the following fees:

  • $1,000.00 license fee for each initial license requested
  • Up to $500.00 prorated amount at approximately $42.00 a month for each second year renewal license fee
  • $500.00 for each renewal license fee
  • $22.00 fingerprint fee for each fingerprint card submitted

4) Submit the Application, Affidavit(s), fingerprint card(s), license fee and fingerprint card fee either in person, or mail to our office:

Coconino County Sheriff's Office
Civil Process
911 E. Sawmill Rd.
Flagstaff, AZ 86001

5) Please allow up to 6 weeks to process the application and fingerprint background check.

6) If approved, licenses can be picked up in person at our office or delivered in the mail.

7) If you will be handling firearms, you will need to contact the ATF for an application. If your business is located within a municipality, please check with them for any additional restrictions or requirements.


Licenses cannot be sold or transferred without approval from the Coconino County Sheriff’s Office; a new license fee will apply. Any change request will need to be done in writing and submitted to the Coconino County Sheriff’s Office. In order to process your paperwork in a timely manner, ensure that all questions on the application and Affidavit(s) are filled out completely.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, and if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our Administrative Team at 
(928) 226-5012.

Any questions regarding pawn shops or pawned items that are not related to licensing, please ask for the Criminal Investigations Division at
 (928) 226-5012.


Connect With Us Online
RSSFacebookTwitterYouTube