ELA Anchor Standards

The AZ ELA K-12 Anchor Standards, the “backbone” of the Standards, describe the literacy skills which all students need when they graduate. There are 10 anchor standards for reading and writing and 6 for speaking and listening. Keeping the college and career focus at the forefront of Kindergarten through grade 11/12 implementation is critical as the anchor standards are essential to understanding the structure and cohesive nature of the AZ State Standards for ELA: Social Studies, History, and Science & Technical Subjects. It is this unique design that supports the preparation of all students to be successful in school, from the beginning of school, and proficient in the Essential Skills of Reading, Writing, and Speaking and Listening required for an Arizona Diploma.

Reading Anchor Standards

Writing Anchor Standards

Speaking and Listening Anchor Standards



2384 N Steves Boulevard

Flagstaff, AZ  86004

Email: ccesa@coconino.az.gov

Phone: (928)-526-5570

Fx: (928)-526-5720


Monday - Friday

8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!
Facebook Logo for Website Opens in new windowInstagram Logo for Website Opens in new window