DIVORCE WITHOUT CHILDREN

RESPONDING TO A CASE

YOU CAN USE THIS PACKET IF ALL THIS IS TRUE:

. Your spouse filed a Petition for Divorce Without Minor Children in
Coconino County.

o You disagree with something in the Petition.

. You are not on active duty with the military.

Before signing a court document or getting involved with a court case, it's important to
see an attorney to make sure you understand your legal rights and responsibilities. The
Self-Help Center has information on finding an attorney.
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INSTRUCTIONS

Protecting Your Address: If the other party has committed or threatened to commit physical
violence against you or your children, and you do not want the other party to know your address:
1) use a post office box on all your court forms or 2) see Rule 7, Arizona Rules of Family Law
Procedure, about how to protect your address. See the Self-Help Center packet Order of
Protection if you need a court to order the other party to stay away from you.

Continuing group health benefits: In many cases, federal law lets an employee’s spouse and
children temporarily continue group health benefits under the employer’s plan after the employee
and spouse are legally separated or divorced. To qualify for this extension, you or your spouse
must notify the employer of your separation or divorce within 60 days of the court’s signing the
Decree. The beneficiary must pay the entire premium of the continued coverage; the employer
makes no contribution.

STEP 1:

You are the “Respondent”. Your spouse is the “Petitioner”.

READ THE PAPERS PETITIONER SERVED ON YOU

Petitioner should have filed the following papers with the court and served them on you. Read
and make sure you understand everything Petitioner served on you.

Summons
Petition

Preliminary Injunction

STEP 2:

Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance
Notice Regarding Community Debts

DETERMINE HOW LONG YOU HAVE TO RESPOND

See the table below for how long you have to file a written response to the Petition. Find the date
in the “After” column on a calendar. Start counting on the next day. Count off the days in the
“Count” column, including weekends and holidays. If you want to file a response, you must do
so by the last date you counted, unless it’s a weekend or court holiday, in which case you must
do so by the next workday.

If the Papers If the Papers

How Were the Were Served In Were Served After:

Papers Served? Arizona*, Outside of ’
Count: Arizona, Count:
Accepta_nce of 20 days 30 days Respon_dent signs the Acceptance
Service of Service
Process Server 20 days 30 days Respondent receives the papers
from the process server

Sheriff or Tribal Respondent receives the papers
Law Enforcement 20 days 30 days from the officer

Certified Mail 20 days 30 days Respondent signs the green card

Publication 30 days 30 days after the first publication
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*If the Papers Were Served on an Indian Reservation in Arizona: Depending on the facts
and circumstances of the case, there may be more days for Respondent to respond. An attorney
can advise you.

STEP 3: READ THE FAMILY COURT SERVICES INFORMATION SHEET

STEP 4: IF YOU DISAGREE WITH THE DIVISION OF PROPERTY OR DEBTS
ASKED FOR IN THE PETITION:
DECIDE HOW TO DIVIDE PROPERTY AND DEBTS

You will enter how you want to divide property and debts on the Response.

Community Property and Debts: In general, community property is property (other than a gift
or inheritance to one party) that you and your spouse acquire after you were married and before
one spouse serves divorce papers on the other. See the Petition for a list of types of community
property. One type of community property is retirement benefits (pension/retirement fund/profit
sharing/stock plans/401Kk). Division of retirement benefits is a complicated area of the law. After
the judge divides the retirement benefits, you will have to contact an attorney, accountant, or
company representative to get the documents needed to access the retirement monies.

In general, community debts are debts you and your spouse acquire after you were married and
before one spouse serves divorce papers on the other, no matter who spent the money. Generally,
the court will order a fair division and will not give most or all of the property or debts to one
spouse. If you and/or your spouse still owe money on a piece of property, the court will probably
give that debt to the same spouse who gets that property. You may ask that real property be sold
and the proceeds divided between you and your spouse. Community property and debts that are
not listed on the Petition or Response will be considered still owned or owed by both you and
your spouse.

Separate Property and Debts: In general, separate property is property you or your spouse
acquire before you were married, after one spouse serves divorce papers on the other, or as an
inheritance or gift to one party. Separate property may become commingled community property
in some circumstances.

In general, separate debts are debts you or your spouse acquire before you were married or after
one spouse serves divorce papers on the other.

The court usually will confirm that your separate property and debts are yours and your spouse’s
separate property and debts are your spouse’s.

STEP 5: FILL OUT THE RESPONSE TO A PETITION FOR DIVORCE
WITHOUT CHILDREN
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STEP 6: FILE THE FOLLOWING WITH THE COURT

Take or mail the original and two copies, all single-sided, of the following to the Clerk’s Office
in the Coconino County Courthouse at 200 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001.

[1] Response to a Petition for Divorce without Children, with the following attached if
applicable:
[] A copy of your marriage license

Also take or mail the $289 filing fee. The Clerk’s Office accepts cash, money orders, and
cashier’s checks payable to “Clerk of Superior Court”. If you can’t afford the fee, see the Self-
Help Center packet Getting Help With a Filing Fee.

The Clerk will stamp your copies with the filing date and return them to you for your records. If
you file by mail, include a self-addressed, stamped envelope and a note asking the Clerk to return
the date-stamped copies to you.

STEP 7: SERVE THE FORMS ON THE OTHER PARTY

Mail or hand-deliver a copy of the forms you filed to the other party on the day you file them. If
the other party has an attorney, deliver them to the attorney.

STEP 8: BY 40 DAYS AFTER THE RESPONSE IS FILED:
USE THE LAW LIBRARY PACKET CALLED DISCLOSURE
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Flowchart of the Court Process

Petitioner files Petition

Petitioner starts the case by filing a Petition

: B

Petitioner serves Petition

Petitioner gives a copy of the Petition and other court
forms to Respondent through a legal method called

“service”

»

. 3

Respondent files a
Response

If Respondent disagrees with
something in the Petition,
Respondent has 20 days from
service (30 days if served
outside of Arizona) to file a
Response

OR

Parties file a Consent
Decree

If the parties agree on
everything, they may file a
Consent Decree

: &

. 3

The court may schedule
a conference

The case ends when the
court signs the Consent
Decree

: &

Either party asks for a
trial date

: &

The case ends at a trial

"

OR

Respondent doesn’t
participate at all

Respondent fails to file a
Response on time and won’t
sign a Consent Decree

: &

Petitioner files for
Default

: &

The case ends when the
court signs the Default
Decree

(If Petitioner can’t find
Respondent, the case
ends at a hearing)

How Long Does It Take? Divorce or Legal Separation: at least 60 days. Unmarried parents: at least 30

days.

Where Can | Find Forms? The Law Library has forms for all of these steps.

928-679-7540, 877-806-3187, www.coconino.az.gov/lawlibrary
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EAMILY COURT SERVICES

Service

When Can | Ask
for 1t?

How Much Does it
Cost?

How Do | Ask for
1t?

o 1% session free
e 2 more sessions

Reconciliation/Separation B_efore orduring a at $32 per
Counseling dlvorce_ or legal session for a
separation couple or $24
per session for
an individual
Family Mediation Before or during a
court case Free
The parties meet with a involving children
neutral mediator to come to
agreements about legal
decision-making and ﬁgg[ﬁ:g%ﬁi ::(?rseen $100 per party
parenting time.
Family Evaluation During a court
case involving Free

A mental health

professional evaluates the
family and recommends a
legal decision-making and

children

After a court case

Fee set by the

See the Law Library
packet Asking for
Family Court
Services

parenting time arrangement | involving children | evaluator

to the court.

Property or Support _ Cf_;lll the AIterna@ive

Mediation Before a dlvorc_e Dlsput_e Resolution
or legal separation Coordinator at 928-

The parties meet with a 679-7508.

: $270 per party

neutral mediator to come to See the Law Libra

agreements about child During or after a acket Asking for Y

support, spousal support, or | divorce or legal E ilv C ?

dividing property and debt. | separation S:rrll]ilcﬁs our
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Service

When Can | Ask
for It?

How Much Does it
Cost?

How Do | Ask for
1t?

Cooperative Parenting

The parties attend 8 classes
over 8 weeks to gain
insight, skills, and
techniques to help their
children’s long-term
recovery from the
disruption of family
changes. The parties attend
separate classes.

During a court
case involving
children

Rollercoasters

Kids attend a 6-week
therapeutic peer group to
help them understand their
parents’ divorce,
separation, or other family
changes. There are two peer
groups: one for 5-8 year
olds and one for 9-13 year
olds.

During or after a
court case
involving children

Best Interests Attorney

The court appoints a
qualified attorney to
represent a child in a case
involving children.

During a court
case involving
children

Free

Call the Law
Library at 928-679-
7540.

Questions? Call the Law Library at 679-7540 or 877-806-3187.
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Person Filing:
Mailing Address:
City, State, Zip:
Phone Number:
Email:
Representing Self

COCONINO COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT

In re the marriage of Case Number: DO

Petitioner (My spouse) RESPONSE TO A PETITION FOR
DIVORCE WITHOUT CHILDREN

Respondent (Me)

| STATE THE FOLLOWING UNDER OATH:

The Parties and the Marriage:

My Spouse’s Name:
Street Address: City, State, Zip:
Birthdate: Phone Number: Job title:
Number of months/years in a row to date my spouse has lived in Arizona:
If not living in Arizona now, my spouse [ ] lived [] did not live in Arizona at some point during our
marriage.

My Name:
Street Address: City, State, Zip:
Birthdate: Phone Number: Job title:
Number of months/years in a row to date | have lived in Arizona:
If not living in Arizona now, | [] lived [ ] did not live in Arizona at some point during our marriage.

The Marriage: Date of Marriage:
City and state or country where we were married:
Conciliation: [] Yes [] No: The conciliation provisions have been met or do not apply.

Covenant Marriage: [] Yes [] No: We have a covenant marriage. If yes, a copy of our marriage license
is attached.

Military Service: I am not in military service.

Residency: [] Yes [] No: I and/or my spouse lived in Arizona, or my spouse was stationed in Arizona
while a member of the armed services, for at least the 90 days before my spouse filed the Petition.
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Minor Children: [] Yes [] No: We have biological or adopted children together, and/or the wife is
pregnant by the husband.

General Denial: | deny anything stated in the Petition that | have not specifically admitted or qualified.

| ASK THE COURT TO ORDER THE FOLLOWING:

Divorce:

[1 Order that my spouse and | be divorced.

[1 Dismiss this case because:
[ My spouse and | have a covenant marriage.
[ Our marriage is not irretrievably broken.
[ Neither | nor my spouse lived in Arizona, and my spouse was not stationed in Arizona
as a member of the armed services, for the 90 days before my spouse filed the
Petition.

Spousal Support:

[1 | agree with the spousal support the other party asked for in the Petition.
OR
[] Neither party is entitled to spousal support.
[ Award [] Petitioner or [] Respondent $ per month in spousal support from the other

party beginning the first day of the month after the Decree is signed because they:
[1 Lack sufficient property, including property apportioned to them, to provide for their needs
[1 Lack earning ability in the labor market that is adequate to be self-sufficient
[1 Are the parent of a child whose age or condition is such that the parent should not be required to seek
employment outside the home
[1 Have made a significant financial or other contribution to their spouse’s education, training,
vocational skills, career, or earning ability, or has significantly reduced their income or career
opportunities for their spouse’s benefit
[1 Had a marriage of long duration and is of an age that may preclude the possibility of gaining
employment adequate to be self-sufficient
Order that payments be made by the first day of each month thereafter and continue until the receiving
party is remarried or deceased or until , Whichever is
sooner. Order that payments be made through the Support Payment Clearinghouse by automatic wage
assignment. If there are temporary spousal maintenance orders, order a judgment for arrearages when

the judge signs the Decree.
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Property and Debts:

[] | agree with the division of property and debts the other party asked for in the Petition.

OR

Order property and debts divided as follows.

Community Property: Value Petitioner ~ Respondent
Real Estate:
Address: $ [] []

Legal Description:

Address: $ [] []
Legal Description:

Bank Accounts:
Enter the name on the account and the account description
(for example, “savings”).

$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] [

Motor Vehicles:

Make: $ [] []

Model:

Lienholder:

Last Four Digits of VIN:

Make: $ [] []

Model:

Lienholder:

Last Four Digits of VIN:

Employment Benefits:

Examples: 401K, retirement accounts, pensions.

Enter name on the account and the fund name.
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []
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Other Community Property:
[ The parties have already divided all remaining property, and the court confirms that
division, except as follows.

Household Furniture and Appliances:

Value Petitioner ~ Respondent
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []

Other:
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []

Community Debts:

Enter the name on the account, creditor, and description

(for example, “credit card”).
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []

Separate Property: $ 1 []
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []

Separate Debts: $ 1 1
$ [] []
$ [] []
$ [] []

Each party shall pay all debts unknown to the other party. Each party shall pay his or her debts forward
from the date the Petition was served on Respondent. This Decree can be used as a transfer of title and
can be recorded. Parties shall sign all documents necessary to complete all transfers of title ordered in
this Decree, such as for motor vehicles, houses, and bank accounts. The parties shall transfer all real and
personal property to the other party as ordered within 10 calendar days after the judge signs the Decree.
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Summary Of the Differences Between What | Say About Property and/or Debts and What the
Other Party Said In the Petition About Property and Debts:

Name Change: Restore my former name of:

| Request the Following Other Orders:

| request any other orders that the court deems appropriate.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE: I will [] mail or [] hand-deliver a copy of this document to the
other party on the day I file it.

Sign in front of a notary. Notaries are at the Self-Help Center in the Courthouse and at most banks or
listed in the Yellow Pages. The person signing must bring photo ID. Notaries usually charge a fee.

Signature:
State of Arizona )
County of ;
Subscribed and sworn or affirmed before me this date: by:
Seal: Notary Public:

Notary Expiration Date:
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